Stop thinking I am drunk! A short story of office politics in the corporate world

Latediagnosedaspie
2 min readAug 2, 2024

--

As someone on the autism spectrum, I often find myself in awkward social situations, misunderstood by those around me. My tendency to blurt out whatever comes to mind, without filtering for appropriateness, can sometimes lead to uncomfortable moments. People have even mistaken me for being drunk due to my unpredictable and sometimes offensive remarks.

One incident stands out in particular. I was at work, engaging in what was supposed to be a routine conversation with a colleague. However, something he said struck a nerve, and I lost my temper. In a moment of frustration, I lashed out, telling him that he needed plastic surgery. I was angry and wanted to hurt him. His response was rather amusingly,

However, my poor theory of mind, another symptom of autism, prevented me from anticipating his long-held grudge over my remark. He spent the next few weeks insulting me and encouraging his friends to shun me. The situation escalated until I lost my temper again and called him out in the group chat, revealing what he did to annoy me in the first place: reporting my complaints to the senior staff member about whom I had confided my grievances.

Honestly, he seemed a bit autistic himself, always rambling on about his inability to find dates, his love of Andrew Tate, and “investing in the red.” I didn’t understand why he hustled so hard at work, given that his father was the Director of the company and was now making millions as the LP of a private equity firm. I also didn’t understand why he was so obsessed with hustling.

Adding to the complexity was his background — a 20-year-old Reform voter — which may have contributed to his emotional immaturity and the way he handled the situation.

From this experience, I learned three important lessons:

  1. Not everybody at work is your friend.
  2. Assume that what you tell one person at work will be shared with the whole office.
  3. Confront asses privately rather than in front of the group.

--

--