Autism isn’t a curse or a superpower; it’s more like being short — just a natural variation in human diversity

Latediagnosedaspie
2 min readAug 24, 2024

--

Since my late diagnosis at 24, I’ve connected with countless autistic people, primarily online. Many describe autism as a curse, while others, mainly non-autistic individuals, refer to it as a superpower.

As an autistic person, I propose a third perspective: viewing autism as a neurotype, a natural variation within the human population. There’s a theory suggesting that autistic people only appear to struggle because we live in a neurotypical society in the modern era — a society not built for us. Evolutionary biology posits that autistic individuals may have played an innovative role in early human societies. Our brains, wired for deep focus, long memories, and a drive to question norms, often lead us to invent new ways of doing things, thus advancing human progress. Many innovators across various fields, including Einstein and Newton in science, and Gould and Mozart in the arts, are suspected to have been autistic.

However, being autistic does come with significant challenges. As someone with high-functioning autism, or what was once called Asperger’s, I’ve experienced these difficulties first-hand. My main struggles are social: I’m naturally solitary and find it hard to form alliances, which leaves me vulnerable to bullying. Although I’ve improved my social and networking skills since childhood, I still struggle with office politics. As suspected Asperger’s sufferer Jean-Paul Sartre once said, “Hell is other people,” and many of my challenges arise from interactions with others.

Understanding autism as just a part of who I am, rather than as a curse or superpower, allows me to better adapt and manage my expectations. By viewing it as a natural variation, I’m able to focus on finding practical ways to navigate life’s challenges, rather than being caught up in labels. In the end, it’s about accepting myself as I am and learning how to thrive in a world that may not designed for me.

--

--